Terms you can choose
One year, five years, or lifetime. Once the period has ended the person is not automatically removed; they remain on the list until they affirmatively request removal, with identity re-verification 'comparable to the verification performed when the request for inclusion... was made.' A lifetime selection can never be removed.
Sign up for the longest exclusion time you can. Future you will thank you.
When it ends
A fixed term continues until you request removal; a lifetime term has no published way to lift it.
A fixed term. Your name does not come off when the one-year or five-year term runs out. It stays on the list until you affirmatively request removal, with identity re-verification comparable to the verification performed when you went on. A lifetime selection can never be removed.
A lifetime term. Lifetime is one of the three terms offered, and the form states a lifetime selection can never be removed.
How to enroll
Open the Connecticut self-exclusion request form.
Complete and sign the form yourself, then submit it one of four ways: mail it with your photo and ID copy to CT Department of Consumer Protection, 450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 901, Hartford, CT 06103-1840, ATTN: Gaming Self-Exclusion List; have it notarized and email it to dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov; upload it to the DCP_TEMP folder at sft.ct.gov and email that address to say it is there; or register through the state's online portal. Submitting is not the same as being registered: the form says you are not considered registered until DCP emails you a confirmation, and DCP told us it goes out the same day you sign up. Once that email arrives you are on the state list for online gaming, sports wagering, online lottery and keno, and fantasy contests. It does not reach the gaming floor at Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods — those are separate enrollments with each tribe. We don't fill in or submit this form.
- Download the Connecticut Gaming Self-Exclusion Registration Form from portal.ct.gov, or start in the state's online registration portal linked from the DCP self-exclusion page. We don't fill in or submit this form.
- Fill in your name, address, phone, email and date of birth (your SSN or Tax ID is voluntary), choose one year, five years or lifetime, and sign. Attach a copy of a government-issued photo ID and a clear photo of your face.
- You can skip the ID copy and photo by signing in front of a notary instead, using the notary block printed on the form. The sources do not say whether the notary has to be a Connecticut notary, or whether a remote online notarization counts.
- Submit it one of four ways: mail it to CT Department of Consumer Protection, 450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 901, Hartford, CT 06103-1840, ATTN: Gaming Self-Exclusion List; email the notarized version to dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov; upload the signed form, ID and photo to the DCP_TEMP folder at sft.ct.gov and then email dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov to say it is there; or register through the online portal.
- DCP emails you a confirmation when you are on the list, and until it arrives you are not registered. The form is blunt about it: 'Until and unless you receive a confirmation email from our agency regarding your registration on the list, you are not considered registered.' Expect it the same day. DCP told us in writing on October 2, 2026 that the system sends the confirmation the day you sign up, and that the email includes the end date of the term you picked — so check it and keep it. If the day passes with nothing, look in your spam folder, then email dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov. DCP says every question about the list goes to that mailbox; it gave no phone number. On the operator side, online gaming operators have to check the department's list at least once a day and suspend a matched account within four hours.
- Your name does not come off when a one-year or five-year term runs out. It stays on the list until you request removal and verify your identity again, comparably to how you verified it going on. A lifetime selection can never be removed.
- This list never reaches the gaming floor at Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods. To be excluded there, enroll separately with each tribe.
Official form (PDF metadata ModDate 2021-10-19; no separate printed revision code) Program page
Before you count on it. This is the state list only. It carves out gaming conducted solely on the reservations of Connecticut's tribes, so it does not keep you off the gaming floor at Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods — each tribe runs its own program, and enrolling with a tribe does not put you on this state list either. The tribes' online and mobile products ARE on this list. Retail, in-person lottery ticket purchases are not covered; only online lottery sales and keno are. Racing and pari-mutuel wagering (horse racing, jai alai, greyhound racing) sits outside the statutory definition of a sporting event the list uses, and no exclusion mechanism was found for it. Whether residents or non-residents qualify is not stated in any source reviewed. Sending the form does not put you on the list: the form says you are not considered registered until DCP emails you a confirmation. DCP told us in writing on October 2, 2026 that the confirmation goes out the same day you sign up and that it names the end date of the term you chose, so you should not be waiting long — and if the day passes, email dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov, which DCP says is where every question about the list goes. DCP did not say whether your registration counts from the day it receives your form or the day the email goes out, and did not say what happens if the email never comes. Whether a remote online notarization is accepted is not addressed. After your term ends your name stays on until you request removal, and the form states a lifetime selection can never be removed.
Every route we checked
Routes that enroll you
- By mail — CT Department of Consumer Protection, 450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 901, Hartford, CT 06103-1840, ATTN: Gaming Self-Exclusion List
The signed form plus a photo and ID copy may be mailed to this address. - By email — dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov
Only for the notarized-form route: a notarized form may be emailed here directly. - Online — https://sft.ct.gov secure file transfer (DCP_TEMP folder), followed by an emailed notice to dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov
Upload the signed form, ID and photo, then email to notify DCP of the upload. - Online — https://gaming-exclusion.service.ct.gov/selfexclusion/s/registration
DCP's self-exclusion page links here as 'Sign up for the self-exclusion list'. We have not confirmed the portal's on-screen fields; DCP's page is what says this portal is for enrollment.
Routes that get you a form or an answer, not an exclusion
- Online — https://gaming-exclusion.service.ct.gov/selfexclusion/s/removal
The removal-portal link on DCP's self-exclusion page, for a person whose chosen term has ended. - By email — dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov
'Having trouble signing up for self-exclusion? Email... for help.'
Requirements and sources
Sources read 2026-10-02. These are the program's requirements, not a record of anyone's enrollment.
- Terms available
- One year, five years, or lifetime. Once the period has ended the person is not automatically removed; they remain on the list until they affirmatively request removal, with identity re-verification 'comparable to the verification performed when the request for inclusion... was made.' A lifetime selection can never be removed.
- Can a resident enroll
- Not verified: The regulation says 'Any individual may have the individual's name included,' with no residency clause stated either way. No source addresses non-resident eligibility directly.
- Can a visitor enroll
- Not verified: Same as residents: not addressed.
- Identification
- A government-issued photo ID and a clear photo of the applicant's face are required unless the form is notarized instead.
- Notarization
- Optional alternative to the ID+photo route: the form may instead be notarized and mailed or emailed in, using a notary block included on the form itself.
- Witnesses
- Not verified: No separate witness requirement beyond the notarization alternative is stated.
- Notarizing online
- Not verified: The form allows notarization as an alternative to the ID+photo route but does not state whether the notary must be a Connecticut notary or whether remote online notarization qualifies.
- How long processing takes
- Online gaming operators must compare accounts against the list at least once daily and suspend a matched account within four hours. DCP described the same daily obligation to us in broader words on October 2, 2026: "The gaming licensees in the state are responsible to download the updated list daily to update their records." It named no license class and no deadline for acting on a match, so the four-hour rule still rests on the regulation and still speaks to internet gaming.
- How you are told it took effect
- A confirmation email from the department is the stated gate on registration itself, not a courtesy receipt. The form reads: 'NOTE: Until and unless you receive a confirmation email from our agency regarding your registration on the list, you are not considered registered.' DCP answered our written question on October 2, 2026: "Generally, the process is that the system sends out a confirmation notification on the same day that the individual signs up for the list," and "The end date of the selected self-exclusion is included in the confirmation email." So expect it the same day, and expect it to name when your term ends. The answer is hedged "generally" and is written about signing up, so it does not say when a form you post, email after notarizing, or upload to sft.ct.gov gets confirmed. DCP also said where to ask: "All questions concerning the Connecticut self-exclusion list are directed to this email box for response" — dcp.selfexclusion@ct.gov. It gave no phone number, did not say what to do if the email never arrives, and did not say whether your registration counts from the day DCP receives your form or the day the email is sent.
The form asks for: name, address, phone, email (required), SSN or Tax ID (voluntary), date of birth, government-issued photo ID copy (unless notarized), clear photo of face (unless notarized).
- Connecticut DCP — How do I enroll in the Self-Exclusion Program? portal.ct.gov · read 2026-09-24
- Connecticut DCP — Self Exclusion portal.ct.gov · read 2026-09-24
- Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Gaming Division, written answer to BanMyself on the confirmation email written answer received 2026-10-02
- Connecticut Gaming Self-Exclusion Registration Form portal.ct.gov · read 2026-10-21
- Connecticut Gaming Self-Exclusion Terms and Conditions portal.ct.gov · read 2026-10-21
- Public Act No. 21-23 (HB 6451) cga.ct.gov · read 2026-09-24
- Regs. of CT State Agencies Sec. 12-865-23 — Voluntary Self-Exclusion Procedures eregulations.ct.gov · read 2026-10-21